Ethiopian double in Tilburg

Mestawat Tufa wins in Tilburg  (TTM / Pix4Profs)

Mestawat Tufa wins in Tilburg (TTM / Pix4Profs)


Tilburg, The Netherlands - On a new course in Tilburg in the south of The Netherlands Ethiopia scored a double victory in respectively in the Brabants Dagblad Ten Miles and the Tilburg Ladies Run 10km. Both events are IAAF Silver Label Road Races.

In the men’s Ten Miles, Abiyote Guta won in 46:02 out-sprinting Kenyan Wilson Kipsang by two seconds. The women’s 10km was won by Mestawat Tufa in 31:48, who was eight seconds ahead of compatriot Bezunesh Bekele.

Directly after the start of the Ten Miles, which along with the women’s race was being run on a new course, a leading group of five was formed. These five passed the three kilometres point in a fast 8:30 and the 5km marker in 14:18.

Halfway the leading group was down to three with Kipsang, Guta and a second Ethiopian Yigeze Zembaba. These passed 10 kilometres in a still pretty fast 28:35. Shortly after that point Zembaba fell back and it became a two man affair.

In the final stages of the race, watched by thousands of spectators who lined both sides of the course, Guta left his opponent and won in 46:02 to 46:04. Zembaba came home third in 46:31.

The women’s race was held in drizzling rain. From the start a large leading group mostly composed of African women was formed. This group passed half way in 16:06. Shortly afterwards it became clear that only two women would fight for the victory: Mestawat Tufa and the tiny Bezunesh Bekele. Behind these two, Hungarian Aniko Kalovics held third place.

The two Ethiopian women fought a fierce battle but finally Tufa broke away and finished in 31:48, eight seconds ahead of her compatriot. Kalovics came home third in 32:25

Wim van Hemert for the IAAF


Men – 10 Miles

1.Abiyote Guta Eth 46:02
2.Wilson Kipsang Ken  46:04
3. Yigeze Zembaba Eth 46:31
4. Wesley Langat Ken 47:07
5. Shadrack Kiplagat Ken 47:48
6. Martin Lauret Ned 47:55
7. David Rutoh Ken  48:24
8. Willem van Hoof  Bel  48:33
9. Guy Fays Bel  48:40 (35+)         
10. Vital Gahunga Bur  48:41
11. Hugo van den Broek Ned  48:42
12. Greg van Hest Ned 49:07
13.Sammy Korir Ken  49:41
14. Stefan van de Broek Bel  49:48
15. Colin Bekers  Ned  49:52
16.Philip Wyle Gbr 49:53           
Women – 10km

1. Mestawat Tufa Eth 31:48
2. Bezunesh Bekele Eth 31:56
3. Aniko Kolovics Hun 32:25
4. Workitu Ayanu Eth 32:41
5. Pauline Wangui  Ken 32:43
6. Christine Chepkonga Ken 32:54
7. Turkan Erismis Tur 34:18
8. Emily Chemutai Ken 34:25
9. Ilse Pol Ned 34:28
10. Karolina Jarzisnka  Pol 34:35
11. Jolanda Verstraten  Ned 35:04
12. Alemitu Bekele  Ken 35:17
13. Saskia van Vugt   Ned 35:32
14. Miriam van Reijen  Ned 35:33
15. Nadja Wijenberg Ned 36:15  (40+)



Contact News Editor

Name :
Email :
Phone :
Message :
Enter text shown in the above image :

You may also like...