Dr. Debretsion Gebremichael Elected Chairman of TPLF

Debretsion-Gebremichael-elected-Chair-TPLFNovember 29, 2017 - Following a series of meetings and evaluations (gimgema) lasting several weeks, the Tigray People Liberation Front (TPLF) has elected Dr. Debretsion Gebremichael as the new chairman of the organization. It is also learnt that Fetlework Gebreegziabher (a.k.a Monjono) was elected Deputy Chair of the TPLF.

Dr. Debretsion served as Deputy Chair of TPLF before the current changes, while Monjorno served as member of the executive committee.

Abay Woldu, the former chair of the organization, was removed from the 9-member executive committe of the front and demoted to just a member of the 45-seat centeral committe organ. Three other former members of the executive committe also lost their seats: Azeb mesfin (who was also suspended from the organization), Beyene Mikru (former Deputy President of Togray), and Tedros Adhanom (who became Director General of WHO recently).

In adition to the new Chair and Deputy Chair of the TPLF, the organization has elected the following seven individuals to the powerful, 9-member executive committee: Getachew Assefa, Alem Gebrewahid, Addisalem Balema (PhD), Asmelash Woldesellasie, Getachew Reda, Keriam Ibrahim, and Abraham Tekeste (PhD) - the last four joining the executive committe for the first time this year.

The TPLF general assembly is expected to decide on the fate of Azeb who walked out of a party session and suspended from the organization, it was learnt, according to the Reporter.



Contact News Editor

Name :
Email :
Phone :
Message :
Enter text shown in the above image :

You may also like...