Ethiopia Names First Female Defense Minister, Downsizes Cabinet

By Staff Reporter

New-cabinet-ethiopiaOctober 16, 2018 - In a surprise move, Ethiopian Prime Minister Abiy Ahmed has appointed Aisha Mohammed as the country’s first female defense minister.

The appointment was approved on Tuesday by the national parliament which also endorsed a new cabinet in which half of the ministerial portfolios were taken up by women.

Aisha Mohammed, from the country's Afar region in the north-east, had served as construction minister.

Prime Minister Abiy Ahmed also downsized his cabinet number from 28 portfolios previously to 20, which includes the newly created Ministry of Peace.

Ministry of Public Service and Human Resources, Government Communication Affairs Office, Ministry of Environment and Climate Change have been eliminated.

The new cabinet encompassed newly formed offices namely Ministry of Peace, Ministry of Revenue, Ministry of Innovation and Technology, Ministry of Science and Higher Education.

Those ministries that were not eliminated or merged inside the cabinet include MInistries ofDefense; Finance and Economy; Agriculture; Transport; Mines and Petroleum; Education, Labour and Social Affairs; Culture and Tourism; Planning and Development Commission; Foreign Affairs; Health; Water, Irrigation and Electricity; Attorney General with portfolio of minister.

According to the new cabinet, the Ministry of Urban Development and Construction, Ministry of Trade and Industry, Ministry of Women, Children and Youth have been merged once again.

16 of the new posts are now held by new appointees. Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Ministry of Health; Ministry of Water, Irrigation and Electricity and Attorney General with the Rank of Minister have appointees as before. Dr Workneh Gebeyehu (Minister of Foreign Affairs), Dr Amir Aman (Minister of Health), Dr Seleshi Bekele (Minister of Water, Irrigation and Electricity), and Berhanu Tsegaye (Attorney General with the Rank of Minister) remain ministers.

Explaining the structural reform, Prime Minister Dr. Abiy Ahmed said the structural reform has considered bringing peace and stability, ensuring fair use of resources and accelerating growth and development as well as meeting the public’s demand at the shortest time possible.

Here is Prime Minister AbiyAhmed's new cabinet approved by Ethiopian parliament.

Muferiat Kamil - Minister of Peace

Aisha Mohammed - Minister of Defense

Ahmed Shide - Minister of Finance and Economy

Umer Hussien - Minister of Agriculture

Fetlework Gebregziabher - Minister of Trade and Industry

Adanech Abebe - Minister of Revenue

Dr Getahun Mekuria - Minister of Innovation and Technology

Dagmawit Mogess - Minister of Transport

Jantirar Abay - Minister of Urban Development and Construction

Dr Samuel Hurka - Minister of Mines and Petroleum

Dr Tilaye Gete - Minister of Education

Dr. Hirut Woldemariam - Minister of Science and Higher education

Yalemtsegay Assefa - Minister of Women’s, Children’s and Youth

Dr. Ergoge Tesfaye - Minister of Labour and Social Affairs

Dr. Hirut Kassaw - Minister of Culture and Tourism

Dr. Fitsum Assefa - Minister of Planning and Development Commission

Dr Workneh Gebeyehu - Minister of Foreign Affairs

Dr Amir Aman - Minister of Health

Dr. Seleshi Bekele - Minister of Water, Irrigation and Electricity

Berhanu Tsegaye - Attorney General with the Rank of Minister



Contact News Editor

Name :
Email :
Phone :
Message :
Enter text shown in the above image :

You may also like...