Ethiopia Elected Member of World Heritage Committee of UNESCO

By Staff Reporter

UNESCO-World-HeritageNovember 29, 2019( -- The Assembly of some 193 states parties to the World Heritage Convention convenes in Paris, France, once every two years during the ordinary session of the General Conference of UNESCO (United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization) to elect members of the World Heritage Committee, to examine the statement of accounts of the World Heritage Fund, and to decide on major policy issues, including the election of new World Heritage Committee members.

The UNESCO World Heritage Committee, which is one of the oldest UNESCO organs, is responsible for the implementation of the World Heritage Convention, defines the use of the World Heritage Fund, and allocates financial assistance upon requests from states’ parties.

The UNESCO World Heritage Committee is composed of 21 state parties that are elected by the General Assembly for a four-year term.

And this year, the 22nd General Assembly of the States Parties to the World Heritage Convention held meeting on 27 and 28 November 2019, at the UNESCO Headquarters in Paris.

The General Assembly was called upon, inter alia, to replace the outgoing members of the World Heritage Committee, in conformity with Rule 13.1 of the Rules of Procedures of the General Assembly of States Parties to the World Heritage Convention concerning the presentation of candidatures for election to the World Heritage Committee.

Accordingly, Ethiopia was one of the members elected by the World Heritage Committee of the UNESCO for the next four years. Ethiopia has previously inscribed nine sites on the World Heritage List, namely, Axum in 1980, Fasil Gebi (1979), Harer Jogol fortified historic town (2006), Konso cultural landscaper (2011), Lower valley of awash (1980), Lower Valley of the Omo (1980), Lalibela (1978), Semen national park (1978), and Tiya (1980).

During the session, the General Assembly elected 8 new members to the World Heritage Committee, including Egypt, Ethiopia, Mali, Nigeria, Oman, Thailand, Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, and South Africa.

According to reports from the official Website of UNSECO, the current World Heritage Committee consists of Australia, Bahrain, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, China, Egypt, Ethiopia, Guatemala, Hungary, Kyrgyzstan, Mali, Nigeria, Norway, Oman, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Spain, Thailand, Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, and Uganda.

The next World Heritage Committee meets in China in 2020, where the Federation is reported to participate in discussions relating to the management review of existing World Heritage Sites, accept nominations for inscriptions from member countries, and review the Heritage Fund and international assistance requests.

Join us on social media:
Like on Facebook and get Ethiopian News updates regularly.
Get the latest Ethiopia News by following us on twitter @Ezega_Official.
Follow Ezega on LinkedIn for Ethiopia Jobs and Ethiopian News Today.



Contact News Editor

Name :
Email :
Phone :
Message :
Enter text shown in the above image :

You may also like...